Naturhistorisches Museum Bern, Büsu 4, sprechender Affe

Büsu 5 – An annual report

short movie

Rather than producing a thick annual report, the Natural History Museum Bern treats itself to a short film. Including this year! We are proud to present Büsu 5. This time, the stuffed animals are voiced by children...

Büsu 5 NMBE

Find out what really happened at the Natural History Museum of Bern last year

No, from a meteorological perspective, 2018 was not a good year for museums. However, even though the unusually good weather did museums no favours, the Natural History Museum of Bern (NMBE) achieved an excellent result. By welcoming 129,753 visitors, the institution owned by the municipality of Bern exceeded the magic number of 100,000 visitors for the eighth year in a row. The annual result was also the second best ever in the 180-year history of Bern’s oldest museum. The breakdown of admissions is as follows: paying visitors to exhibitions totalled 94,539, and there were 35,214 visitors to events (e.g. Museums Night). Compared with the previous year, this represents an increase of 4.5% (2017: 124,106).

Great honour – «Büsu 4» awarded gold EDI

It was not only the financial result that was outstanding; the museum also received several awards. In autumn, it won the coveted ‘EDI’, the most prestigious award in the advertising film industry, for its original annual report. As the ‘highlight and surprise of the evening’ (Werbewoche magazine), the NMBE received one of the seven gold prizes for its film ‘Büsu 4’. The NMBE is also one of Switzerland’s 10 best event and party spaces. The Swiss Location Awards’ expert jury ranked the museum among the best in the Event & Party Spaces category.

The highlights of the last year

The highlight of last year was the launch of Pica’s Nest, the forest experience for the whole family, which opened in November. The NMBE is very much a family museum. It offers a wide range of events and experiences that children and families can explore on their own. The museum has now extended the range of activities it offers its core visitors by adding a sanctuary for the whole family. Pica’s Nest is an innovative new museum concept – a children’s exhibition and pleasant recreational space, all in one. It is perfect for discovering, playing, reading, drinking coffee and relaxing. Children can learn all about the forest habitat in a playful and relaxed way. The museum also opened two smaller, but no less impressive exhibitions; in particular, the ‘Five stars’ special exhibition, in which we show 170-million-year-old fossils of echinoderms from the Swiss Jura – a unique fossil collection. The highlight of the exhibition is a rock slab containing sea urchins, starfish, brittle stars, crinoids and sea cucumbers. The exhibition will remain open until September 2020. In the ‘Jewels from the cellar’ special exhibition, we presented treasures from our collection, which contains 6.5 million objects. Collections lie at the heart of a natural history museum and form an archive of nature. Other highlights last year were our events, with well-known personalities honouring the museum with visits – Müslüm, Peter Schneider, Mark Benecke and Lukas Bärfuss, for example. The museum continues to pursue its plan to use unconventional events to bring new visitors to the museum and rethink its purpose as an institution. To that end, meditation classes were held in the new Apocalypse exhibition, a four-course vegan meal was served in the skeleton gallery as part of the popular ‘Through the courses’ gastronomy series, and high-quality classical music performed as part of the ‘Musik im Rausch’ concert series.

Outlook for the current year: ‘T. rex’ is coming to Bern

Next year, the big event will have short arms and a strong bite: on 14 September, the special exhibition ‘T. rex – do we know each other?’ will open (runs until 22 March 2020). The spectacular, life-size dinosaur replicas will be on display in Switzerland for the first time. The exhibition, which originates from London’s Natural History Museum, sheds light on the most famous of all the dinosaurs. T. rex had powerful jaws that would have been able to crush a car, and a mouth that could have swallowed a person whole. Even so, new scientific findings have raised the question of whether Hollywood’s favourite reptile was actually quite as brutal as we have always believed. In September, Swiss dinosaur fans will, for the first time, be able to visit the world’s first lifelike replica of a T. rex, which is brought to life with animatronics. In addition to several other dinosaur figures, some of which also move, a life-size skeleton will amaze visitors of all ages.

Our museum is also a research institution

Vertebrates department: tiny and old fish

The dwarf fish of the genus Paedocypris, from the large carp family, is one of the smallest fish in the world. With a length of less than 8 mm, it appears larvae-like rather than a fully grown fish. Several bones are missing from its skeleton. For the first time, an international research team, including Dr Lukas Rüber from the NMBE, is investigating the genomes of some types of these minuscule vertebrates. Surprisingly, even the genomes of these tiny creatures are greatly simplified; since many of the genes for development of the skeleton, muscles and nerves are missing, they are among the smallest known vertebrate genomes. These findings allow us a better understanding of the evolution of genomes and miniaturisation in vertebrates.

This last year, the urgently required restoration of the Steinmann-Eawag collection has been in full swing. This collection of Swiss fish, accumulated between 1872 and 1952, is of great historical value and came to the NMBE in November 2017. Many of the approximately 1,000 collection jars had to be replaced. The preservation fluid was replaced and damage to the fish repaired. This collection will be one of the main focuses of the planned public collection.

The research carried out by the NMBE’s vertebrates department is internationally oriented and networked. Evidence of this from the last year are publications with colleagues from China, Germany, the UK, Indonesia, Iran, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Norway, Sweden, Singapore, Spain and the US. In addition to the long-established biodiversity research in south-east Asia, this year a cooperation agreement was also signed with the National University of Mongolia. In June, during an expedition to the central and north-eastern areas of the country, Dr Manuel Schweizer, curator for ornithology, collected specimens of sand martins for an ongoing doctoral thesis being written under his supervision. Further research trips to the area are planned.

During excavations carried out by the canton of Bern’s Archaeological Service, many animal bones were found on the site of a Roman river landing at Studen/Petinesca-Wydenpark. Some came from the embankment of the river Aare and were investigated in 2018 by our archaeozoologist André Rehazek. In addition to many individual bone fragments, 2,000-year-old and relatively complete skeletons of dogs and beavers were also found and painstakingly pieced together. After they died, these animals were disposed of as waste and buried in the ground as part of the Roman embankment on the Aare. The varying size and growth form of the dogs indicates that different breeds or types of dogs existed – in this case, possibly farm and hunting dogs. The beavers, on the other hand, were hunted for their fur in the riparian forests along the Aare.

Unfortunately, this project will be the last collaboration with the Archaeological Service. As a result of cost-saving measures on its part, the joint performance agreement, which ran until the end of 2018, has not been extended. This means that, from 2019, the well-established archaeozoological research at the NMBE cannot be continued. 

Invertebrates department: important fundamental work completed

Owing to the intensive work carried out on the collections and the associated creation of identification guides for scientific and conservation-related questions, in 2018, ‘only’ two new species were discovered and documented – a chalcid wasp from central Europe and a land snail from Panama. Together with Fabian Klimmek, Hannes Baur developed an interactive identification key for the chalcid wasp of the genus Pteromalus for central Europe. Two further publications dealt with the snail fauna of the West Bank and Tunisia. One printed work addresses the issue of the differentiation of species, genus and sub-family in the most species-rich spider family, that of jumping spiders.

Curator Dr Eike Neubert is leading a project to record Swiss freshwater mussels. Working together with mussel specialist Dr Arno Schwarzer, the aim is to record mussel stocks across Switzerland. Recently, a previously unknown species in Switzerland was detected: the native species of mussels are suffering as a result of invasive newcomers. An up-to-date inventory of this sensitive group of animals is therefore urgently required, hence the support of this project by the Swiss Federal Office for the Environment.

Earth sciences department: meteorites and ammonites

In 2018, the search for Twannberg meteorites continued. The discovery rate fell slightly, indicating that the area has already been heavily searched. In 2018, there were 157 finds, totalling 7.1 kg (2017: 196 meteorites, 22.1 kg). In addition to the proportion of meteorites that collectors submit for documentation and finds made by the NMBE itself, purchases are also made specifically to expand the collection of Twannberg meteorites.

Last year, three new meteorites (the Mont Sujet, Mürtschenstock and Chasseron meteorites) were discovered – as reported by the media. The NMBE played a role in all the finds. This raised the number of finds of Swiss meteorites last year to 11. 

One special feature of the NMBE is its palaeontology department. Our palaeontologists are recognised experts when it comes to dating rock strata on the basis of ammonites. Our scientists are examining samples for Nagra (National Cooperative for the Disposal of Radioactive Waste) from the area around the Randen mountains and samples from the Mont Terri laboratory for swisstopo (the Swiss Federal Office for Topography). In the last year, we were able to significantly increase our fossil collection, thanks to the donation of 40,000 fossils from the Fondation paléontologique jurassienne. Work carried out on the new collection has already yielded results – Eva Bischof documented a new species of cidaroid (Diplocidaris bernasconii), named after Gino Bernasconi, the geoscientific technician at the NMBE and finder of the fossil. An article was also published containing investigations into fossilised snails in coral reefs in the St-Ursanne Formation (Upper Jura) of the Swiss Jura. 

Collections: Key partners

Thanks to the scientific work of the Bern Entomological Association (EVB), the NMBE has ongoing documentation of Swiss butterfly and beetle fauna at its disposal – more than 150 years of records of high scientific value. We received a valuable collection of small butterflies, mainly from Switzerland, as a bequest from the estate of EVB member Peter Sonderegger (Brügg, BE). We received a collection of butterflies, moths and spiders from the Entlebuch UNESCO biosphere reserve and neighbouring areas from Werner Hirschi (Langnau, BE). Max Müller (Ried, FR) donated a butterfly collection from the 1960s and 1970s from the Democratic Republic of Congo (formerly Zaire). Dr Werner Marggi (Thun, BE) gave us 3,000 valuable Palaearctic ground beetles. In 2018, almost 39,000 collection specimens were recorded in the database.

The Büsu saga

Featuring a new twist every year, with the same lead character – Büsu, a stuffed cat. The short films from the last five years.

Naturhistorisches Museum Bern, Büsu 4, sprechender Affe

Büsu 5 – un rapport d'activité

court-métrage

Une fois encore, au lieu de publier un épais rapport d’activité, le Musée d’histoire naturelle a préféré produire un court-métrage. Nous sommes fiers de vous présenter «Büsu 5»! Cette année, les animaux naturalisés se mettent à parler comme des enfants...

Büsu 5 NMBE

Apprenez ce qui s’est vraiment passé l’année dernière au Musée d’histoire naturelle de Berne

Non, d’un point de vue météorologique, 2018 n’était pas une année propice aux musées. Bien que le temps exceptionnellement beau n’ait pas joué en faveur des musées, le Musée d’histoire naturelle de Berne a pour sa part réalisé un excellent résultat. Avec 129 753 entrées, l’institution de la Bourgeoisie de Berne a franchi pour la huitième fois consécutive le seuil magique des 100 000 entrées. C’est aussi le deuxième meilleur résultat des 180 ans d’histoire du plus ancien musée de Berne. Les entrées se décomposent comme suit: le nombre de visites à la caisse des expositions s’élevait à 94 539, celui des visites à des manifestations à 35 214 (la nuit des musées par exemple). Par rapport à l’année dernière, cela correspond à une augmentation de 4,5% (2017: 124 106).

Une belle récompense – «Büsu 4» primé par un Edi d’or

Non seulement le résultat est excellent, mais l’institution a également été distinguée par plusieurs prix. A l’automne, le musée a reçu le très convoité Edi – la plus haute distinction dans l’industrie du film publicitaire – pour son rapport d’activité original. Le film «Büsu 4», réalisé par le NMBE et «point culminant et surprise de la soirée», s’est vu décerner l’un des sept prix d’or lors de la Werbewoche. Le NMBE compte en outre parmi les 10 plus belles salles d’événements et de fêtes de Suisse. Elu par le jury professionnel du Swiss Location Award, il s’est inscrit parmi les meilleurs dans la catégorie «salle d’événements et salle des fêtes».

Les faits marquants de l’année écoulée

Le clou de l’année dernière a été l’ouverture du Nid de Pica: un espace de découverte de l’univers forestier pour toute la famille, qui a ouvert ses portes en novembre. Le Musée d’histoire naturelle est un musée pour les familles. Familles et enfants ont tout le loisir de découvrir par eux-mêmes le large éventail d’événements et d’activités que ce lieu propose. Aujourd’hui, le lieu a enrichi l’offre à sa clientèle principale d’un refuge pour toute la famille. Le Nid de Pica est un nouveau concept dans le paysage muséal; à la fois une exposition pour enfants et un salon confortable. Un lieu pour faire des découvertes, jouer, lire, boire un café et se détendre. Les enfants apprennent à connaître cet habitat que représente la forêt de manière ludique et pédagogique.  L’institution a également inauguré deux plus petites mais non moins délicieuses expositions: l’exposition spéciale «5 étoiles», dans laquelle nous présentons 170 millions d’années de nouvelles découvertes d’échinodermes provenant du Jura suisse, des fossiles uniques au monde. Point fort de l’exposition: une plaque de pierre sur laquelle sont rassemblés oursins, étoiles de mer, ophiures, crinoïdes et concombres de mer. L’exposition est visible jusqu’en septembre 2020.  Nous avons également présenté des trésors de notre collection de 6,5 millions d’objets à l’occasion d’une exposition temporaire «Trésors de la cave». N’oublions pas que les collections constituent le cœur d’un musée d’histoire naturelle et les archives de la nature.  L’année dernière a aussi été émaillée de moments marquants: en effet, des personnalités bien connues nous ont honorés de leur présence telles que Müslüm, Peter Schneider, Mark Benecke ou encore Lukas Bärfuss. Le lieu continue sur sa lancée, drainant un public sans cesse renouvelé grâce à l’organisation d’événements peu conventionnels et au renouvellement de l’institution muséale. Par exemple, la nouvelle exposition Apocalypse a servi de prétexte à des cours de méditation, la très populaire série gastronomique «Durch die Gänge» (De plat en plat) a donné lieu à un dîner végan dans la salle des squelettes et la série de concerts «Musik im Rausch» (L’ivresse de la musique) a été l’occasion de faire entendre une musique classique de haut niveau.

Perspectives pour l’année prochaine: «T. rex» arrive à Berne

Le clou de cette année a les bras courts et de longues dents: l’exposition spéciale «T. rex – On se connaît?» sera inaugurée le 14 septembre (et se tiendra jusqu’au 22 mars 2020). Pour la première fois, la Suisse exposera des répliques grandeur nature de dinosaures spectaculaires. L’exposition, qui a vu le jour au Natural History Museum de Londres, met en lumière le plus célèbre de tous les dinosaures. Le T. rex avait une mâchoire puissante qui aurait pu broyer une voiture et une bouche qui aurait pu engloutir un être humain entier. Néanmoins, de nouvelles découvertes scientifiques soulèvent la question de savoir si le reptile le plus populaire d’Hollywood était vraiment aussi brutal que nous l’avons toujours cru. A partir de la mi-septembre, les amateurs suisses de dinosaures découvriront pour la première fois la première réplique réaliste au monde d’un T. rex, ramené à la vie grâce à l’animatronique. En plus de nombreuses reproductions de dinosaures, dont certaines sont également mobiles, un squelette grandeur nature étonnera également les spectateurs jeunes et moins jeunes.  

Notre musée est aussi un institut de recherche

Département des vertébrés: poissons vieux et minuscules

Parmi les plus petits poissons du monde se trouvent les rasboras nains du genre Paedocypris de la grande famille des carpes. Mesurant moins de 8 millimètres, ils ressemblent à des larves et non à des poissons adultes. Il manque beaucoup d’os à leur squelette. Pour la première fois, une équipe internationale de chercheurs, dont le Docteur Lukas Rüber du Musée d’histoire naturelle de Berne, a examiné les génomes des espèces de ces mini-vertébrés. Etonnamment, les génomes de ces minuscules créatures sont aussi grandement simplifiés: comme de nombreux gènes manquent au développement du squelette, des muscles et des nerfs, ils comptent parmi les plus petits génomes de vertébrés connus. Ces résultats permettront de mieux comprendre l’évolution et la miniaturisation du génome chez les vertébrés.

L’année dernière, la restauration urgente de la collection Steinmann-Eawag a battu son plein. C’est en novembre 2017 que cette très précieuse collection de poissons suisses réunis entre 1872 et 1952 est arrivée au NMBE. Depuis, la plupart des quelque 1000 bocaux de collecte ont été remplacés. Le liquide de conservation a été changé, les dommages subis par les poissons réparés. Cette collection sera l’un des points de mire de l’exposition.

Tourné vers le monde, le service de recherche sur les vertébrés du NMBE étend son réseau à l’échelle globale. Pour preuve, des publications co-signées l’année dernière avec des collègues de Chine, d’Allemagne, de Grande-Bretagne, d’Indonésie, d’Iran, d’Israël, de Malaisie, du Mexique, de Norvège, de Suède, de Singapour, d’Espagne et des Etats-Unis. En plus de la recherche sur la biodiversité établie de longue date en Asie du Sud-Est, un accord de coopération avec l’Université nationale de Mongolie a été ratifié cette année. Manuel Schweizer, conservateur en ornithologie, a prélevé des échantillons de martres des sables lors d’une expédition dans le centre et le nord-est du pays en juin pour une thèse de doctorat qu’il dirige actuellement. D’autres voyages de recherche y sont prévus.

A l’occasion de fouilles du Service archéologique de Berne, de nombreux os d’animaux ont été trouvés sur un débarcadère d’une rivière romaine près du Studen/Petinesca-Wydenpark. Une partie provient des rives de l’Aar et a été examinée en 2018 par notre archéozoologue André Rehazek. En plus de nombreux fragments d’os individuels, des squelettes de chiens et de castors âgés de 2000 ans, en grande partie complets, ont également pu être assemblés dans le cadre d’un minutieux travail de détail. Après leur mort, les animaux ont été jetés aux ordures et enterrés dans les fortifications des berges romaines de l’Aar. La taille et le type de croissance différents des chiens indiquent que dès l’époque romaine, il existait une variété de races, en l’occurrence peut-être des chiens d’arrêt et de chasse. Les castors, quant à eux, étaient chassés pour leur fourrure dans les forêts de plaine inondable de l’Aar.   

Malheureusement, ce projet sera la dernière collaboration avec le Service archéologique de Berne. L’accord de performance commun, en vigueur jusqu’à fin 2018, n’a pas été prolongé par l’ABD en raison de mesures de réduction des coûts, entraînant la cessation de la recherche archéozoologique traditionnelle au NMBE dès 2019

Département des invertébrés: des bases importantes ont été jetées

En raison du travail intensif sur les collections et à la réalisation des travaux d’identification associés aux fins de questionnement scientifique et de conservation de la nature, «seules» deux nouvelles espèces ont été découvertes et décrites en 2018: une guêpe parasite d’Europe centrale et un escargot terrestre du Panama. Hannes Baur et Fabian Klimmek ont créé une clé d’identification interactive pour les guêpes parasites du genre Pteromalus pour l’Europe centrale, deux autres publications traitant de la faune escargot de Cisjordanie et de Tunisie. Un article publié traite du problème de la démarcation des espèces, des genres et des sous-familles dans la famille d’araignées la plus riche en espèces, celle des araignées sauteuses.

Eike Neubert est responsable d’un projet de recensement des moules d’eau douce en Suisse. En collaboration avec le spécialiste des moules Arno Schwarzer, les populations de moules doivent être recensées dans toute la Suisse. Ce n’est que récemment qu’une espèce encore inconnue en Suisse a pu être détectée, et parallèlement, certaines espèces indigènes souffrent également de l’arrivée de nouveaux venus envahissants parmi les mollusques. Il est donc urgent de dresser un inventaire à jour de ce groupe d’animaux sensibles. C’est pourquoi le projet est soutenu par le Bafu.

Département des sciences de la Terre: météorites et ammonites

La recherche des météorites de Twannberg s’est poursuivie en 2018, le taux de découverte est en légère baisse, ce qui indique que la zone a déjà fait l’objet de recherches approfondies: en 2018, 157 trouvailles, soit un total de 7,1 kg (2017: 196 météorites, 22,1 kg). Outre la part que les collectionneurs donnent pour la documentation et les découvertes propres du NMBE, la collection de météorites de Twannberg fait l’objet d’enrichissement spécifiques via des acquisitions du NMBE.

L’année dernière, trois nouvelles météorites ont été découvertes (météorites Mont Sujet, Mürtschenstock et Chasseron) – les médias l’ont également mentionné. Le NMBE a joué un rôle dans toutes ces découvertes. Ainsi, le nombre de météorites suisses est passé à onze l’année dernière. 

L’une des particularités du Musée d’histoire naturelle de Berne est, entre autres, son département de paléontologie. Nos paléontologues sont des experts lorsqu’il s’agit de dater les strates rocheuses à l’aide des ammonites qu’elles renferment. Pour la Nagra, nos scientifiques examinent des échantillons de la région de Randen, pour swisstopo des échantillons du laboratoire du Mont Terri. Il y a deux ans, nous avons pu élargir considérablement notre collection de fossiles grâce au don de 40 000 fossiles de la Fondation paléontologique jurassienne. Le travail sur la nouvelle collection porte déjà ses fruits:  Eva Bischof a pu décrire une nouvelle espèce de cidaroïdes (Diplocidaris bernasconii) – du nom de Gino Bernasconi, le préparateur géoscientifique du NMBE et découvreur du fossile. Une recherche sur les escargots fossiles dans les récifs coralliens de la Formation de St-Ursanne (Jurassique supérieur) du Jura suisse a également été soumise pour publication. 

Collections: partenaires importants

Grâce aux activités scientifiques de l’Association entomologique de Berne (EVB), le NMBE dispose depuis plus de 150 ans d’une documentation permanente sur la faune suisse des papillons et des scarabées d’une grande valeur scientifique. De la succession de Peter Sonderegger (Brügg, BE), membre d’EVB, nous avons hérité d’une précieuse collection de petits papillons provenant surtout de Suisse. M. Werner Hirschi (Langnau, BE) nous a transmis sa collection de papillons, d’essaims et de filateurs de la réserve de biosphère de l’Unesco d’Entlebuch et des zones adjacentes. M. Max Müller (Ried, FR) nous a fait don d’une collection de papillons diurnes provenant de la République démocratique du Congo (alors Zaïre) des années 1960 et 1970. Werner Marggi (Thoune, BE) nous a légué 3000 précieux coléoptères paléarctiques. En 2018, près de 39 000 exemplaires de collection ont été ajoutés à la base de données.

 

La saga Büsu

Tous les ans une nouvelle idée, tous les ans avec le même personnage principal «Büsu», un chat naturalisé. Les courts-métrages des cinq dernières années.